Government of India Act 1935

  • The Government of India Act, 1935 was an Act adapted from the Parliament of the United Kingdom.
  • It originally received royal assent in August 1935.
  • It was the longest Act of British Parliament ever enacted until Greater London Authority Act 1999 surpassed it.
  • Because of its length, the Act was retroactively split by the Government of India Act. The Government of India Act, 1935, having 321 sections and 10 schedules.
  • The Act led to:
    • Establishment of RBI.
    • Federal Court in 1937.
    • Bicameralism in 6 provinces (Bombay, Madras, Bengal, Bihar, Assam and United Provinces) out of 11 provinces

Share Tweet Send
You've successfully subscribed to IAS for IAS
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to IAS for IAS
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.