Quadrilateral Security Dialogue (QUAD)

The QUAD is an informal strategic dialogue with four members, namely, India, Japan, Australia and the US. The shared objective is to ensure and sustain an open, free and prosperous Indo-Pacific region.

  • The QUAD is maintained by semi-regular summits, meetings, information exchanges and military drills of all the members.
  • It is seen as a coalition of maritime democracies.
  • The idea for the QUAD is attributed to former Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe who mooted it in 2007. However, its origins can be traced back to the 2004 Tsunami when India conducted relief and rescue operations for itself and neighboring countries and was joined by Japan, the US and Australia.
  • In December 2012, Shinzo Abe again floated the concept of Asia’s “Democratic Security Diamond” involving Australia, India, Japan and the US to safeguard the maritime commons from the Indian Ocean to the western Pacific.
  • The core objectives of the QUAD is to secure a rules-based global order, liberal trading system and freedom of navigation.

Share Tweet Send
You've successfully subscribed to IAS for IAS
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to IAS for IAS
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.