SAARC(South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation)

  • The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is the regional intergovernmental organization and geopolitical union of states in South Asia.
  • Its member states are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
  • The SAARC comprises 3% of the world's area, 21% of the world's population and 4.21% (US$3.67 trillion) of the global economy, as of 2019.
  • The SAARC was founded in Dhaka on 8 December 1985.
  • Its secretariat is based in Kathmandu, Nepal.
  • The organization promotes development of economic and regional integration.
  • It launched the South Asian Free Trade Area in 2006.
  • The SAARC maintains permanent diplomatic relations at the United Nations as an observer and has developed links with multilateral entities, including the European Union.


  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • India
  • Maldives
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka


  • Australia
  • China
  • European Union
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Mauritius
  • Myanmar
  • South Korea
  • United States

Specialized Bodies

  • SAARC Arbitration Council(SARCO) - Islamabad, Pakistan
  • SAARC Development Fund(SDF) - Thimphu, Bhutan
  • South Asian University(SAU) - New Delhi, India
  • South Asian Regional Standards Organization(SARSO) - Dhaka, Bangladesh

Share Tweet Send
You've successfully subscribed to IAS for IAS
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to IAS for IAS
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.