SCO(Shanghai Cooperation Organisation)

  • The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation or Shanghai Pact, is a Eurasian political, economic, and security alliance.
  • The creation was announced on 15 June 2001 in Shanghai, China by the leaders of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.
  • The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Charter, formally establishing the organisation, was signed in June 2002 and entered into force on 19 September 2003.
  • The original five nations at the time of formation - China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan were previously members of the Shanghai Five group, founded on 26 April 1996
  • The organisation has expanded its membership to eight countries when India and Pakistan joined SCO as full members on 9 June 2017 at a summit in Astana, Kazakhstan.
  • The Heads of State Council (HSC) is the supreme decision-making body in the SCO
  • It meets once a year and adopts decisions and guidelines on all important matters of the organisation.
  • Military exercises are also regularly conducted among members to promote cooperation and coordination against terrorism and other external threats, and to maintain regional peace and stability.
  • The SCO is the largest regional organisation in the world in terms of geographical coverage and population
  • Cover three-fifths of the Eurasian continent and nearly half of the human population.


Member States

  • China
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Russia
  • Tajikistan
  • Uzbekistan
  • India
  • Pakistan

Observer States

  • Afghanistan
  • Belarus
  • Iran
  • Mongolia

Dialogue Partners

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Cambodia
  • Nepal
  • Sri Lanka
  • Turkey

Share Tweet Send
You've successfully subscribed to IAS for IAS
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to IAS for IAS
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.