Committees of Constituent Assembly

The Constituent Assembly appointed a total of 22 committees to deal with the various tasks of constitution-making. Of these, eight were major committees and the other were small committees.

  1. Drafting Committee - BR Ambedkar

  2. Union power committee - Jawaharlal Nehru

  3. Central Constitution Committee - Jawaharlal Nehru

  4. Provincial Constitution Committee - Vallabhbhai Patel

  5. Advisory Committee on Fundamental Rights, Minorities and Tribal and Excluded Areas - Vallabhbhai Patel. This committee had the following subcommittees:

    • Fundamental Rights Sub-Committee - JB Kripalani
    • Minorities Sub-Committee - Harendra Komar Mookerjee,
    • North East Frontier Tribal Areas and Assam Excluded and Partially Excluded Areas - Gopinath Bordoloi
    • Excluded and Partially Excluded Areas (Others in Assam) Sub-Committee - AV Thakkar
  6. Rules of Rakriya Committee - Rajendra Prasad

  7. States Committee (Committee for Interaction with States) - Jawaharlal Nehru

  8. Steering Committee - Rajendra Prasad

  9. National Flag and HOC Committee - Rajendra Prasad

  10. Committee for the work of the Constituent Assembly - GV Mavalankar

  11. House Committee - B. Pattabhi Sitaramaiya

  12. Language Committee - Moturi Satyanarayana

  13. Order of the Trade Committee - KM Munshi

Share Tweet Send
You've successfully subscribed to IAS for IAS
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to IAS for IAS
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.