Constituent Assembly | UPSC

  • The Constituent Assembly of India was elected to write the Constitution of India. The Constituent Assembly was elected by the 'Provincial Assembly'.
  • 1922: Mahatma Gandhi first said in India in 1922 that every person in the Constituent Assembly would be an Indian.
  • 1934: M N Roy proposed the formation of the Constituent Assembly.
  • 1938: J L Nehru said the Constituent Assembly would be built on adult suffrage.
  • July 1946: - Constituent Assembly was formed in India at the behest of the Cabinet Mission.
    Note - In the year 1946, British Prime Minister Attlee announced to send a three-member high-level delegation to India. The delegation consisted of three members of the British Cabinet - Lord Pethick Laurence (Secretary of India), Sir Stafford Cripps (Chairman of the Board of Trade) and A.V. Alexander (the first lord or naval minister of Admiralty) was. This mission was given specific rights and its task was to explore measures and possibilities for peaceful power transfer to India.
  • In 1946 elections were held in 296 seats for the Constituent Assembly.
    208 - Congress
    73 - Muslim League
    15 - Other
  • The highest number of seats came from the United Provinces.
    United Provinces - 55
    Madras - 49
    Bihar - 36
  • Junagadh, Jammu & Kashmir and Hyderabad did not participate in the Constituent Assembly elections.

Share Tweet Send
You've successfully subscribed to IAS for IAS
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to IAS for IAS
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.